Can't get to inside starter bolt

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alyck

Cadet
I know this seems like a silly question, but I can not reach the inside bolt on the starter of my 1980 Mercruiser sterndrive/Chevy350. The flywheel cover was pushed into the flywheel after trying to take off with a bilge that was pretty full. This caused an awful loud clanging noise that I thought was something much more serious. I have removed the bolts from the flywheel cover but noticed that there must be a hole that the starter goes through because the cover will not come off. If this was a car, I would simply climb under and remove the starter. It seems like I need four foot monkey arms to reach this one. Is there something I am missing??? I can't see having to remove the engine to remove the starter.. The motor is mounted in a 1980 Chris Craft, Scorpion 210, 21 foot long. Please excuse my ignorance. I am new to this boat stuff, but have rebuilt many Chevys, just not in a boat. Any suggestions would be appreciated. I have been fighting this for a whole day and finally came here to ask...

galaxy225

Cadet
Re: Can't get to inside starter bolt

hi i have merc3.0 liter....the reason why i am posting is because i think there both g.m. engines one of the bolts on mine was onthe bottom left and the other i had to go to the right side of the engine and from feeling under it i found the otherbolt....i used a socket wrench with a 3inch adepter and socket to get it off....i also had my brother hold his finger on the bolt so when i was feeling under the engine i could find it........i bet i did not help much but i tried........good luck....................

flashback

Captain