Replacing Mercruiser Water Pick Up Hose

scottyt22

Cadet
Mercruiser 1998 V8 5.0 - I want to replace the water pick up hose on my mercruiser - can someone point me to a picture where this is located or tell me? Is this something that is easy to do - eg, I am not a mercruiser mechanic just a regular guy with basic mechanical skills.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Replacing Mercruiser Water Pick Up Hose

The OEM service manual for your particular drive details how to change it, but I really have to ask WHY you want to change it when you don't even know what it is or where it's located? Also, what kind of outdrive is it?
There are OEM service manuals for download at the link below
http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=251571

scottyt22

Cadet

I could not find the manual for the alpha one engine itself 1998, only one for the outdrive/transom. Do you have a specific link to the manual for me?

It was recommended on this forum that to correct a high temp problem at slow trolling speeds to replace the water pick up hose which tends to kink over time, and to replace the elbows/risers. Already replaced the impellor.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

It was recommended on this forum that to correct a high temp problem at slow trolling speeds to replace the water pick up hose which tends to kink over time, and to replace the elbows/risers. Already replaced the impellor.

You don't seem to quite understand the concept. This forum makes all kinds of suggestions, some are right some are wrong. What you have to do is find out exactly what is wrong with your engine and drive and not fix what is wrong with others. All that does is costs you a lot of money for replacing parts that aren't the problem.

As far as engine manual, well, that depends on what engine you have.
You might want to read this thread before you go any further.
http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=220416

ken_23434

Petty Officer 1st Class