Running on muffs

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Running on muffs

Since I'm new to boats, I ask a lot of stupid questions so bear with me. Testing the motor on a garden hose with muffs and was told not to run the motor above about 1500 rpm. Is this true?

Yes. As the engine speed increases so too does the water pump impeller speed. A standard garden hose can't supply enough water beyond about 1500rpm, so you'll end up with a burnt impeller....

Oh, and don't worry about asking too many questions. The only dumb question is the one asked too late...

Chris....
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    The world takes on a whole new perspective when viewed from 100’ below.
    1972 Bertram ‘Bahia Mar’ 20
    2006 Mercruiser 4.3MPI (0W617679) w/Alpha One Gen II (0W829301)
    (Original - 1972 '165' In-line 6. Previous - 1994 4.3LX)

Comment

Thanks! I ran it up briefly to 2k but I won't go beyond that. Of course I do plan on replacing the impeller anyway.

Comment

Which brings up another question. I don't have a serial number for the outdrive so how do I know which impeller to buy? I see whole pump kits with the housing and all new parts. I only need just the impeller correct? Drive only has about 150 hours on it.

Comment

Got a serial number for the engine? Or a year?

Comment

2001 Sea Ray 180 with 3.0 but, the outdrive is from a 2002. New motor also.

Comment

Outdrive is pretty much certain to be an Alpha 1 Gen 2. Looks like the pic:

Click image for larger version

Name:	fetch?id=7175450.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	100.6 KB
ID:	10813894
              17 Foot '90 Bluewater
              Alpha 1 3.0 Merc - repowered in 2016
              now - 4.3L Vortec - Alpha 1 GenII
              Honda BF100L kicker
              Engine custom - Transom 0D65328 - Drive 0D648864
              If you ain't fishin, then yer working too much.

Comment

Yup gen II

Comment

Originally posted by Me Too View Post
                  Drive only has about 150 hours on it.