1988 Mercruiser 165 4 cyl wont start

Hey guys, I'm lost. I'm a automotive mechanic by trade. Bought this boat as a fixer upper. I had the engine running but rough. Changed out the carb, ran perfect. Shut it off, now it wont start. Pulled a plug to check for spark and it starts with the plug out of the engine. Have spark and fuel. Compressions seems equal across the 4 cylinders. New pertronix electric ignition, new plugs, new battery, new starter, newly rebuilt carb. I'm got about 11v at the coil, gave it a new 12v hot wire just in case and didn't effect it. I'm lost, any ideas?

alldodge

Staff member
Pulled a plug to check for spark and it starts with the plug out of the engine.

What is the compression ?
When it was running, did you set the timing (4 BTDC)?
Firing order 1,3,4,2

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
did you service the points?

what is the compression? equal across all means nothing without numbers

the lower voltage is because with points you need a ballast resistor or you burn out the points.

alldodge

Staff member
Compression numbers are good enough and should run

How was the timing?

Wonder where those 470 Dudes are when we need them :D

Timing was good. It ran perfect(once) after I put a rebuilt carburetor on. Shut it down to let it cool and hasn't started since.(except with one plug pulled out completely) my only thoughts is it's a defective rebuilt starter. Maybe it's not spinning the motor fast enough?

So now I've been messing with everything for 2 days now. I've found that I can get it started and running at mid throttle but then when I try and get it back to idle it dies. I'm a new school mechanic with computers and injectors and suck. Carburetors make no sense to me. What do I have to mess with on this mercarb 2 barrel to get it to start/run at idle

alldodge

Staff member