What is this assembly? (pic) 1996 Mercruiser 5.7 Alpha 1

Goodman98155

Cadet
I am new to boat engines and can't identify the function of this actuator-like assmbly on the starbaord exhaust riser. I am beginning to troubleshoot an overheating issue and wonder if this thing has something to do with cooling. Sometimes the plastic actuator shaft is extended and now it is not. Mystery to me!

Attachments

• photo307420.jpg
    photo307420.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 0
Last edited:

QBhoy

Fleet Admiral
That’s the throttle and gear cable linkage, with shift interrupt switch.
If you are having a go at trouble shooting, best have a look at the manual. Good luck. This has nothing to do with it overheating.

wrench 3

Commander
It's got nothing to do with your cooling. It's your gear shift linkage. Your's has an easy shift servo.

Goodman98155

Cadet
Thanks Qbhoy and wrench- makes sense now. I guess I though it was operating a valve of some kind in the riser.

achris

More fish than mountain goat
Bolted to the starboard exhaust elbow is the shift plate. You have the remote control gear shift cable (the top one) and the lower shift cable (the lower cable of the two) on there. The plastic 'actuator' is a thing called a 'shift assister'. It's spring-loaded in both directions to assist in getting out of both forward and reverse gear.

Chris....

Last edited:

poconojoe

Lieutenant Commander
The impeller was referenced. It's located in the stern drive.
Go to (Boatinfo.no) to view the manuals for your stern drive and engine.

poconojoe

Lieutenant Commander
The impeller is what draws the water into the stern drive, then toward the engine. It's made of rubber and can wear out, depending on usage. The engine also has a water pump that circulates the water throughout the block, just like a car.
If you don't know when the impeller was last changed, then you should change it or get a marine mechanic to do it for you.

Goodman98155

Cadet