Welcome Guest - Sign Up today
Welcome Guest - Sign Up today

Announcement

Collapse

Private Messages

We are aware of a current issue where your messages screen does not properly load and we are working on a fix.

In the interim, you can access you messages by navigating to this link: https://forums.iboats.com/privatemessage/notification

Apologies for the inconvenience.
See more
See less

What is this assembly? (pic) 1996 Mercruiser 5.7 Alpha 1

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is this assembly? (pic) 1996 Mercruiser 5.7 Alpha 1

I am new to boat engines and can't identify the function of this actuator-like assmbly on the starbaord exhaust riser. I am beginning to troubleshoot an overheating issue and wonder if this thing has something to do with cooling. Sometimes the plastic actuator shaft is extended and now it is not. Mystery to me!
    Starboard Exhaust riser Mercruiser 5.7 alpha 1
    Last edited by Goodman98155; January 26th, 2019, 05:25 PM.

That’s the throttle and gear cable linkage, with shift interrupt switch.
    If you are having a go at trouble shooting, best have a look at the manual. Good luck. This has nothing to do with it overheating.

Comment

It's got nothing to do with your cooling. It's your gear shift linkage. Your's has an easy shift servo.
      "Growing old is mandatory. Growing up is optional."

Comment

Thanks Qbhoy and wrench- makes sense now. I guess I though it was operating a valve of some kind in the riser.

Comment

First place to start with overheating is the impeller. Grab a manual and get to know the engine.
          83 Sunrunner 16.5 120 merc Alpha 1 drive SOLD 8/1/13

1996 Crownline 202BR
          5.7l EFI 0f791070
          Bravo I drive

GMC Yukon tow rig

Comment