1993 mercruizer 4.3lx no power after half throttle

Greenbean79

Cadet
First off. I'm new to this I'll do my best but I want to thank you guys for all your post. I've got a 1993 bayliner trophy with a mercruizer 4.3lx alpha 1 that I purchased about 3 months ago. It was on salt water several years ago but has been a fresh water boat for about the last 8 years. Boat has 305hrs on it. It had been sitting for a year. When I went to look at it we took it to the lake started right up ran good had it on the lakes here at home a couple times done great then started to get sluggish after half throttle didn't want to plane out as easy it had about a half tank of fuel when I purchased I put stabilizer in and filled up.ive ran about 40 gallons of fuel through it since I've owned it. So I decided to give it a tune up hoping that would help. Changed fuel and oil filters new plugs mr43t wires rotor button and got a cap and ignition sensor but the cap wouldn't fit and the ignition sensor looked different it is all plastic but I put the sensor on any way bolted right up boat ran honorable so I started chasing what I had done swapped out new sensor for old one boat ran great on muffs so I took to the lake for a load test starts good alittle slow but idles great got out of no wake and no power past half throttle runs 3200rpm @22mph and will climb to 4k rpm about 25mph but that's it can back off throttle to half way doesn't change anything go back into the throttle you can feel it bog down. I dont know what else to check any help would be appreciated thank you

achris

More fish than mountain goat
Hello Greenbean79, and :welcome: aboard.

The very first thing (before even taking it on the water) anyone should do when they buy a secondhand boat (or car, or truck, or house!) is a full service. That way you start to get to know the machine. Yes, machines will talk to you, if you know how to listen.

For your problem, do a service and take it from there.
Compression test,