compression test and timing - 1994 250 hp Johnson

adg

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hello again,

after the mechanical things I have done on the motor I wanted to figure out why it is not running smooth. Now today I did a compression test and checked with the timing light. It is my first time ever to use a timing light so I wonder what I've got.

Compression first:

Cyl 2 (top left) 100 psi Cyl 1 (top right) 122 psi (top right and left when looking from behind the motor)
Cyl 4 100 psi Cyl 3 120 psi
Cyl 6 100 psi Cyl 5 100 psi
Cyl 8 100 psi Cyl 7 100 psi

From this I would believe after what I have read here on the forum that the 80% rule is 0,8 * 122 = 97 so the variance between the cylinders would be within acceptable range? Is this right?
I do wonder why cyl 1 and 3 are so much higher than the rest but I am not a technician so really don't know.

Then for the timing:
I checked on all the cylinders - when doing cyl 1 I seem to see only a spot close to 3 - neither can I find 1 on the flywheel - don't know why. But it lights up steady on the same spot.

The rest of the cyl light up as they should (that is how I know the cyl sequence as written above) BUT there is a problem with cyl 7.

The timing light is only rarely lighting up and it happens to be when the motor is making the kind of cough that makes it run irregularly. Does this mean I have found my faulty cylinder? or at least where there is no consistent spark when it should?

My question to you is now, what next step must I take to try to eliminate this problem? As far as I can understand it can be the spark plug cable from a little box on the powerhead to the spark plug, or it can be the little box on the powerhead? or something else? I post a picture to show you what I mean with that little box on the powerhead.
Appreciate any guidance to solving this problem - thanks.

little box.jpg

175se

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: compression test and timing - 1994 250 hp Johnson