Replacing Impellers/water pump on a 1977 Evinrude 70 hp Mod # 707739

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Replacing Impellers/water pump on a 1977 Evinrude 70 hp Mod # 707739

I am going to hopefully finally buy a motor for my 16' boat. I am looking at a 70 hp this time. It's an Evinrude, 1977, 70 hp, mod #707739, (two model #'s that year 70773/70779 as listed in engine ref chart.) The motor has sat for three years. Plan on doing some carb work, not sure how much, maybe completely rebuild them. Carb work is no problem. I also want to replace the impellers/water pump per recommendations from many people. I have better than average mechanical skills, but I have limited shop space so would have to work on this in my driveway. I have never done this type project before.

Finally, my question; How difficult is this project and is it one that could be done in a driveway by someone with a reasonable set of skills?

Click image for larger version

Name:	1977 70 hp evinrude 2.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	1.1 KB
ID:	7195639
    Last edited by Bubbasboat; April 7th, 2014, 04:52 PM.

Re: Replacing Impellers/water pump on a 1977 Evinrude 70 hp Mod # 707739

The first thing I would do is get an OEM factory service manual. It will also help you when you have other probs with the motor.

Comment

Yes, a manual makes perfect sense. I looked at the link provided. $30.00, worth every penny!! I will also take your answer to imply this could be done in a driveway. If that's not so, please correct me!!

Originally posted by boobie View Post
      The first thing I would do is get an OEM factory service manual. It will also help you when you have other probs with the motor.

Comment

Yes it can be done in a driveway. Down here in FL we do a lot work outside all the time.

Comment

Here in Colorado, as we say, "Spring time in the Rockies". Overnight we can go from 76 deg to 3 ft of wet heavy snow!

Not having done this before, how much time should I allot myself, a day or?