1972 50 hp Evinrude w/ hydro-electric shift

bybb101

Recruit
Hello fellow boaters, I am fairly new to boating, and new to the iboats community. I am getting ready to repair/rebuild my first outboard motor. I have a 1972 50 hp evinrude model # 50273-c, with the hydro electric shift system, I also have the control box, but I do not have the key. Before I go sinking alot of money into rebuilding the control box I would like to get the motor to crank over, fire off, and maybe even running for a minute. My first (?) is there a way I can start the motor with out the control box, or atleast bypass the key-lock assembly. The control box is in pretty rough shape and will need to be rewired, I will also need a wiring digram of the key-lock assembly, and the forward, neutral, reverse switch. There are also 2 wires one tan, and one purple the tan one runs from the wiring harnes to the motor, and the purple one from the key-lock asembly. They run through a plastic sleve to the front of the control box but whatever they ran to is not there could someone please tell me what is missing. I would appriciate any and all insight, input, and assistance. Thank You

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1972 50 hp Evinrude w/ hydro-electric shift

Just order a new key from an Evinrude dealer. Meanwhile, disconnect the black with yellow stripe wire from the power pack and it will start and run, either by jumping the starter or rope starting it. Warning, everything else must be connected or you will blow the rectifier. The wires coming out the front of the box probably are added by somebody for a tachometer.

Attachments

• Wiring 1971-72 50hp gs.jpg
    Wiring 1971-72 50hp gs.jpg
    145.6 KB · Views: 73

eavega

Lieutenant