Trying to rebuild 18 hp Johnson

Status
Not open for further replies.

ccvolsdhf

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hi Guys
New to the forum first post. I'm new to the world of boats and what not. Just got my first boat last yr. 14 ft gamefisher with fishing decks. Added 69' 25hp evinrude sportster along with countless hrs of other fixups. Right now I'm making plywood glassed custom livewell. Love to fish,and be on the water, But almost as much as i like being on the boat I like working on it. Which has been leading me to want to get my hands on some of these older motors 60's and up and try and rebuild them. For the fun of it and try and make a little $. Which leads me to my ?. There's a guy down here with a 18HP Johnson seahorse looks to be 70's model. the add says doesn't run do to not having carb and water tube. IN the add is a picture showing 119 psi in both chambers and it says has good recoil. The guy wants next to nothing for the motor do you guys thing a person who has never taken apart a boat motor, but who loves to take stuff apart and recondition then put back togather,and has a pretty good history of fixing there car when it breaks could take this thing apart and rebuild it, and do you think having to find a carb and water tube(whatever that is) plus the normal rebuild parts would take away any profit to be made from this motor.

P.s I have really just the basic tools,but would like to add anything i would need to do this kinda of thing all the time. Zepher It seems you've rebuilt your share of motors if I was able to gain the knowledge,and tools to rebuild these motors could a person make any $ doing this hobby.

Thanks for any help

nwcove

Admiral
Re: Thinking of trying to rebuild 18 hp Johnson

I wouldn't plan on retiring off the money you might make rebuilding vintage motors. You will enjoy bringing them back to life tho. It's a fun and satisfying hobby, but as a general rule, you end up putting more into them than they are worth.

1946Zephyr

Vice Admiral