Power trim/tilt fit onto '74 V4?

Guy_GT150

Recruit
Hi Guys,

Apologies if this has been asked before. I have found some information but it's not really clarified the situation much. I'm a bit of a newbie in this area so forgive my ignorance - this probably won't be my first post on this engine!

I have what I believe to be a 1974 Johnson 85hp outboard (model no 85ESL74B) on what we think is a 1980 Glastron GT150, both of which need some restoration work.

The engine currently has no power tilt/trim, but having seen how useful it is, I would really like to add it as part of the rebuild.

I've read that units for these engines are extremely rare, but I keep finding units for '78 - '92 units coming up. I thought the basic design of this engine didn't change until much later than '78, so would these later units really not fit?

Is there any way of making them fit? I don't really want to put an aftermarket jack plate on as the ones I've seen don't look very nice.

All the best

Guy

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner
Re: Power trim/tilt fit onto '74 V4?