jb weld leaking oil

dueynetsell

Cadet
hey guys,
I am a college student with very little knowledge of boat engines, but with so little funds i have to pretty much do everything my self... so last winter my lower unit cracked due to water being in it (lesson learned), so i applied jb weld to the crack which holds just fine when i am only idling( which i am doing most of the time), but when i run it on plane for any length of time, a little bit of gear lube leaks through the jb weld...

Is this likely because i did not apply the jb weld as well as i should have?
or could it be that for some reason my lower unit is getting way too hot than it should be?

also what would be the best way to remove the jb weld if i need to do it again or finally get it welded?

kfa4303

Banned
Re: jb weld leaking oil

Hi dueynetsell. I'm a student too, so I feel your pain. What is the model, year of your motor? Any pics? Your gears shouldn't be getting too hot assuming it's holding the proper amount of oil. However, if oil can get out, water can get in, which is what could really damage your gears. I guess there are a couple things you could try. Starting with the simplest (cheapest) thing first. You could try to put just a bit more JB weld over the leaking bit and hope for the best. You could cut out/remove the old JB and get it properly welded, but I think you might be best served by trying to get a new/donor LU from another motor. It would probably cost the same as haveing it professionally welded and you would get all the extra bits that come in the donor LU. Check c-list, ebay, and local repair shops. You might be surprised how little you can get a new LU for. Good luck. Keep us posted.

1946Zephyr

Vice Admiral

What model and year of motor are you working on? Some motors, it is worth the money to replace the lower unit, if it's in that bad of shape.

carholme

Rear Admiral