1971 Evinrude 100hp - No spark?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pitprice

Cadet
Hi I took my boat out this weekend and could not get her to start!!

She is turning over but never kicked in. I have done a bit of investigating and it looks like i am getting no power to the spark plugs. Does anyone have any suggestions on what the problem could be? I am new to boats and this is the first time in the couple of months of owning her that she hasn't started.

Also when i got her home after a few hours driving and all parked up she started slowly leaking oil from where the prop meets the housing? No much but enough to be concerned about i think. She has never done this before either!!!

Thanks for any help i've attached some old photos in case this helps anyone
1.JPG

2.JPG

3.JPG

4.JPG

5.JPG

bktheking

Vice Admiral
Re: 1971 Evindrude 100hp - No spark?

Does the motor have a kill or lanyard switch?

F_R

Supreme Mariner

The stuff running out is the gas that went through the engine when you were cranking it and it didn't burn. So, it ran out the exhaust, picking up black carbon and crud from the exhaust pipe as it did.
No point in typing all this again. See http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=371137 Motors are similar.

pitprice

Cadet

Does the motor have a kill or lanyard switch?

I'm almost certain it doesn't but i could be wrong! I've had a good look for one but can't see anything that looks like a kill switch to me.

Cheers

pitprice

Cadet

The stuff running out is the gas that went through the engine when you were cranking it and it didn't burn. So, it ran out the exhaust, picking up black carbon and crud from the exhaust pipe as it did.
No point in typing all this again. See http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=371137 Motors are similar.

Few that looks like one less problem then, i've had a look at the link and will attempt to follow the first steps or so and see how i get on.

Cheers

slim82

Cadet
Re: 1971 Evinrude 100hp - No spark?