1976 20hp evinrude, misfire & coil hits flywheel

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1976 20hp evinrude, misfire & coil hits flywheel

Hello all and first let me apology, I know these has been discussed times before. I recently got an old 20hp evinrude engine (206B62E) which should have been in working order. Got it running yesterday and found out that the engine would misfire on low rpms and run good on full throttle.

Took flywheel of to inspect points etc and found that the timing plate was loose to axle and one of the 4 coil ends had taken a small hit. Put some thick grease on axle and put the thing back together and it run good on idle and worse on rpm's.

So I supposed that the problem was slack between magneto plate and axle, but here was suggested that the problem was armature plate support and could be fixed with punching the plate? I have no experience with outboards and somehow struggle to understand how this thing works. I can get new sleeved machined to the magneto plate, would these be better option?

Cant find any info of this engine online other than the model year but i would suppose this is quote similiar to 25hp engines?

I'll try to attach some pictures later on, would appreciate your answers.

Post pictures of the magneto.----Is this a Canadian built / marketed motor ?

Comment

Here is picture of magneto: https://imgur.com/7PVHTYp

You can see also the coil thats been contacting the flywheel.

Here is picture underneath the magneto plate: https://imgur.com/kAL1Okf

If I've understood right the engine is made in Belgium and for European market.
      ​​

Comment

Move the coils so that flywheel does not hit.-----I knew there was something odd about the model # listed.

Comment

What about the play on the magneto plate? Doesn't that affect ignition timing?

Comment

Originally posted by ticci View Post
            What about the play on the magneto plate? Doesn't that affect ignition timing?