99 Johnson 25 hp stalling when put into gear

Colby4bush

Cadet
I have a 1999 Johnson 25hp, model j25lp3eem that is stalling when I put it into gear, sometimes I’m able to keep it going and the motor runs just fine if I keep it going! It also will struggle sometimes when I have it in lowest speed it will want to pudder out! I can turn the motor on and increase idle speeds and it runs just fine! Is my idle to low? If so can anyone help me? I’ve noticed some outboards just have a screw but after closer inspection it seems mine won’t be that easy! I’m new to boating I just got a Boston whaler and I just want to fish but this is really beginning to be a downer I hope I can get this fixed. :( thanks in advance

jimmbo

Supreme Mariner
Have you tried using a Tach to observe/set the idle speed? Is this a 2 or 3 cylinder 25?

racerone

Supreme Mariner
That would be the 3 cylinder.-----If the oil mixing unit is on there it should be taken off and thrown away as far as you can.-----Compression test numbers should be posted.

Colby4bush

Cadet
This does not have a tach! As far as the oil mixture I’m not sure because I just mix it myself! Compression is 100 psi on all three cyclinders!

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Have the 3 needles for low speed mixture been adjusted and if so what are they set at.----To a number of turns or a measured distance ?----It should not be hard to find the 1 idle stop screw on the linkages to bump up the idle speed.----Just look for that screw.----Operating the throttle a bit to see moving linkages may help find that screw.

Last edited:

Colby4bush

Cadet
Have the 3 needles for low speed mixture been adjusted and if so what are they set at.----To a number of turns or a measured distance ?----It should not be hard to find the 1 idle stop screw on the linkages to bump up the idle speed.----Just look for that screw.----Operating the throttle a bit to see moving linkages may help find that screw.