1984 Johnson 60HP Idle and Carb

Byronram

Recruit
Hi, I have a 1984 Johnson 60hp outboard. I have been trying to find information on the carburetor and i'm hoping someone here might be able to help. My main issue, is I can't figure out how to set the air to fuel ratio on this carb. I am a total rookie and engine repair so I don't know a lot, but here is my issue. This carb has an orifice idle screw, and then a screw plug. What i'm unsure of is if the Screw plug is what controls the fuel air mix or if it's just supposed to be seated tight. If I loosen it, it just keeps spinning which makes me think it's just supposed to be seated tight, but I haven't been able to confirm that. If that is the case then is the idle just set by the low speed idle cable? The link shows the parts i'm talking about which are #9 and #30 Thanks in advance.

racerone

Supreme Mariner
#9 is the metering jet , goes in tight.----#30 is a plug that goes in tight.-----No adjustment.----And what is your motor doing / not doing that leads you to believe that the carburetors are at fault ?

Byronram

Recruit
Thank you both. I was hoping that was the answer. The reason I asked is I have had some trouble adjusting the idle speed and I wanted to make sure that at least the carburetor was set up correctly. I have done a pretty thorough cleaning of both cabs so I think at least that should be ok, but I just wasn't sure about the screws. My main issue now is getting the idle speed correct so that I can get it into gear without stalling. I adjusted the low speed idle cable grommet which seemed to help but I am not sure if that's the correct way to do that adjustment. Thanks again for the quick reply and help.

flyingscott

Fleet Admiral
Do a link and sync. If you dont know what that is get a manual. Idle speed is set in gear on a warm motor.

Byronram

Recruit