1997 150 Oceanrunner no combustion cylinders 1 and 5

Coosaguy

Cadet
I have a 1997 Johnson 150 Oceanrunner that I’ve noticed isn’t reaching maximum running RPM, only getting to about 4500, checked for spark, fuel, compression and all are present.

I found that two cylinders have no combustion when I was doing the compression check. I pulled the plugs on cylinders 1 and 5 and found that the plugs still looked brand new. They had fuel on them but they did not show signs of use. Put in and old plug and left the new one connected to the spark plug wire and started the motor. Spark is present on both plugs.

I’ve also tried disabling the shift interrupter switch and moving coil packs around. Compression check was also good. All cylinders within 5 psi of one another.

Im new to marine engine maintenance and 2 stroke maintenance so any help would be appreciated.

Bosunsmate

Admiral
If they had proper spark they should have no fuel on them even if its out of time.
You need to check spark can jump a 7/16 gap. You can make a homemade tester with a bit of wood and nails 7/16 apart.
PS always have the HT leads grounded when doing these tests, a ht wire just hanging off the engine can cause component damage

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Each cylinder has it's own carb. For fun, loosen the bolt at the base of the carb bowl and see that fuel runs out of carb 1 and 5. I would be surprised if you don't have fuel in the carb, but you need to check.

Coosaguy

Cadet
Each cylinder has it's own carb. For fun, loosen the bolt at the base of the carb bowl and see that fuel runs out of carb 1 and 5. I would be surprised if you don't have fuel in the carb, but you need to check.

so with the motor shut down, if i loosen that bottom bolt and the bowl has fuel in it thats a bad thing? Sorry if I'm slow on the pick up like i said earlier new to marine engines. I had thought of a possibility that i might be getting too much fuel in those cylinders but i didn't know how to check.