1982 Johnson 40 HP commercial parts

Dairyaamodt

Recruit
This is my first post to a forum, please forgive me if I am doing this wrong. I searched for this before I posted, and could not find anything.

I recently purchased my first boat. It is a late 80’s Starcraft and it came with a 1982 Johnson 40 HP commercial motor model J40RWCN.
I am having a heck of a time finding parts for it. My problem is that I cannot find any websites that list compatible parts for commercial motors. Johnson did not make a recreational 40 HP in 1982 that I can find.

I am just curious if anybody could please help me in finding a way to find a parts list or a different motor that uses the same parts, so I can find replacement parts. I am not a master mechanic but I know my way around motors, but I am very new to outboard 2 stroke motors.

Bosunsmate

Admiral
I know a few people on here have had commercial models and they have seemed to be able to get parts so it is possible.
Have you tried ringing a dealer to see what they say?
What parts are you after?

Dairyaamodt

Recruit
I know a few people on here have had commercial models and they have seemed to be able to get parts so it is possible.
Have you tried ringing a dealer to see what they say?
What parts are you after?

I have not contacted a dealer. I don’t have a lot of $$ to throw at the motor. I bought it on the grounds that it worked, it just needed the points adjusted. But then found out it has no spark, which I am hoping is the points. But it hasn’t been run much in the last 10 years, so I want to do regular maintenance things like impeller and plugs.

Bosunsmate

Admiral
I have not contacted a dealer. I don’t have a lot of $$ to throw at the motor. I bought it on the grounds that it worked, it just needed the points adjusted. But then found out it has no spark, which I am hoping is the points. But it hasn’t been run much in the last 10 years, so I want to do regular maintenance things like impeller and plugs.