Johnson 15 horse issues

algul

Recruit
Hello. Complete noob to everything boating. Bought a 89 12ft smokercraft with at 15 horse Johnson from roughly the same year.
Started at home in like three pulls. Took it out on the water and took forever to start. Then after getting out of the no wake zone started picking up speed and it bogged down and died. Started after a couple minutes but had to use choke (weird because it was warmed up) worked for like 10 seconds but when I started giving gas it died again and haven't been able to start it since. Help.

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner
Model number of the engine? Normally on a plate on the port (left) transom bracket and/or a small core plug on the powerhead somewhere.

The fuel primer bulb should pump up to where it feels quite hard. Does it? Pump the fuel primer bulb, acting as a manual fuel pump while the engine's running. If that has an effect on the engine, what was it (engine kept running, no change, what?) If the problem disappears, suspect the fuel pump... if no change suspect a fouled carburetor.

If the engine's been sitting for some time... the carburetor is no doubt fouled and will need cleaning and rebuilding... not a big deal.

However, check the compression and the spark which, if solid state ignition with all spark plugs removed, the spark should jump a 7/16" air gap with a strong blue flame... a real SNAP! Does it? (if conventional magneto ignition, a 1/4" air gap).

Need the model number.

algul

Recruit
Model number of the engine? Normally on a plate on the port (left) transom bracket and/or a small core plug on the powerhead somewhere.

The fuel primer bulb should pump up to where it feels quite hard. Does it? Pump the fuel primer bulb, acting as a manual fuel pump while the engine's running. If that has an effect on the engine, what was it (engine kept running, no change, what?) If the problem disappears, suspect the fuel pump... if no change suspect a fouled carburetor.