1968 johnson fd22m not starting

steinbro

Seaman Apprentice
I have a 1968 johnson fd22m, it has not started since i got it with boat. I am new to engine repair but can navigate. i have replaced plugs, breakers(spaced at .20), selnoids, water pump, rebuilt carb, fuel pump and new fuel lines but it will not start. Any help or guidance appreciated.

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Does spark jump a gap of 1/4" or more , yes or no ?-----Any pictures of the coils ?

steinbro

Seaman Apprentice
Spark gap for plugs? See ignition photo for coils

Attachments

• photo287854.jpg
    photo287854.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 0

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Those look like replacement coils.--Likely are OK.----Plug gap is 0.030", but the ignition system was designed / built to be able to fire across a 1/4" gap if in good condition.----Does spark jump a gap of 1/4", yes or no ?

steinbro

Seaman Apprentice
I cannot see spark, and even went and got a plug tester cannot see spark there either but sure did give a jokt when i touched and pulled cord. Did get a compression tester and each cylinder is furst pull about 30 than second is around 70 than 120 for 3rd pull.

F_R

Supreme Mariner
If you cannot see a spark, well there ya go. Shocking you means nothing. Clean the breaker points' contacts shiny bright. Even new ones need to be cleaned.

Selnoids??? whazzat?

steinbro

Seaman Apprentice
Ok did so now i got a start but than it died within second. 1 part down i guess. Checked brand new. With 30:1 and fuel is at pump and carb.

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Post a picture of a " selnoid " as we do not recognize what that is.

Crosbyman

Vice Admiral
clean the points again set them at ;020 on the cam's high point for a start (initial setting)

do check the coils secondary winding connections with a volt ohm meter from the rubber plug sockets to engine body (ground)

set he meter to 10KOhms and read both wires separattly ... you should see something between 4-8Kohms