1956 Johnson 5.5hp CD-13A tunning

pfrulas

Cadet
Hi everybody,

I recently got an aluminum 12ft Starcraft from the 60s and a 1956 Johnson 5.5 outboard. The boat floats great, but the motor wasnt working. I'm not really a mechanic but I decided to give it a shot and do a full restoration.

Thanks to all the previous posts, history, videos and awesome material all you guys publish... I've been able to get started...

As a summary, the motor has decent compression (60 / 55 ish) but no spark.
I decided to change all ignition system, full carburator clean, change of water pump, new power gasket and change of oil for the lower unit. I've bought most of what i need from different places, and I'll make sure I post some updates as I move fwd.

What brings me to you today, is that... after cleaning the ignition system, I realized 1 of my sparkplug wires isnt working (only sporadic continuity) so, I was glad I caught that but now Im struggling to find the proper wires.

Again, thanks to all the previous questions, I know I need solid core wires, and that the new ones wont work... I know these are also used in some old motorcycles and tractors... and I know Napa is supposed to sell them. BUT after visiting a Napa store and trying to find wires online... I have to say I dont know which ones to buy.

I've been able to find options on ebay but from Napa, all I have is this:

https://www.napaonline.com/en/p/BEL734803 which is described as "metallic" I was wondering if this would work... not a lot of info on the wire online.

I was wondering if anybody had a part number for Napa so I can try and get it !

I'll update the post with progress pictures and I'm planning to do a website and videos with my progress and lessons learned.. I'll share you the link once I start it !

cheers !

Last edited:

82rude

Rear Admiral