Getting ready to work on the 140

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting ready to work on the 140

After much procrastination, the 140 project is ready to hang on a standared automotive engine stand. I'd thought of building something out of wood but found this locally for $40. Why not?
    '83 Springbok 16' with Franken Xflow, in Southern Alberta. If it ain't smokin', it must be broken.
    Avatar: "Ship Arriving Too Late to Save a Drowning Witch" - Zappa
    My 90-140 engine up-build thread: http://tinyurl.com/hz8uv47

Wood engine stands work fine. At work we made ones that incorporated 4 dolly wheels so they were easy to move around the shop-with the engines mounted. Your engine weighs in at around 300 lbs.

Comment

Yes, I know how much it weighs. Back in the '80s when I worked as a mechanic's assistant in a local marina, I was at a bankruptcy sale stripping outboards out of boats. One gung-ho guy (owner's son, and not the brightest bulb) was busy unbolting a 90 from the same boat I was busy stripping controls and instruments. He had the last bolt out before I realized what he was doing, then the motor fell off and pinned him on the floor. Picked the motor up off him then waited for the ambulance. Not a good day, but he lived.

And the engine stand is rated for 1000 pounds. And it has wheels. And it knocks down for storage. Win win.
      '83 Springbok 16' with Franken Xflow, in Southern Alberta. If it ain't smokin', it must be broken.

Comment

Took my 1982 Johnson 140 off of the boat to replace the transom and do some motor work during the winter. Was able to bull dog it off of the boat with the help of three friends. Bought a block and tackle from tractor supply and hoisted it up in the garage until I could get it mounted on the stand I built. Probably looking at an engine lift or some other set-up to re-mount the motor. it is every bit of #300 and it is a very top heavy awkward weigh to try and move around.

Comment