Pull Start Sprung on Honda B75...

jcframe1983

Recruit
Honda

B75

Serial #: 3018735

Let me just say I have little experience working with small engines (or piston engines for that matter)

I pulled the start cord too far out and it wouldn't retract.

I figured it would be easy... (I was wrong) So I took it apart and the spring cam un-sprung.

there is a little hook (inside) that mounts to the shive (that holds the pull cord) and another hook on the other side (outside of the spring) mounts to the lower housing of the pull start.

there is a stamped steel ring integrated into the lower section of the housing that the spring must seat into to properly work without binding.

I cant seem to get the spring to properly wind into the ring with out popping off either one of its anchor (pun intended:D) points.

2 guys have been working on it for the better part of 2 hours, and we are stumped (and imbarresed)

any help?

sorry I cant post pictures, no digi cam.:(

jcframe1983

Recruit
Re: Pull Start Sprung on Honda B75...

Well, kinda.

I put the spring on backwards. (don't worry, I fied the issue with the spring before I did the write-up)

Step 1: disassemble. (top from bottom)

Step 2: remove the pull handel off the cord.

Step 3: remove the plastic grommet that the chord passes through to prevent chafing and the spring tension plate (also plastic) There is an E clip and spring, plyers and a screwdriver are required.

Step 4: with a 10mm socket remove the tension plate (shiney steel piece with 2 "L" shapes cut in it) "beware there is a small spring on the underside of it. about the size od a quarter

Step 5: remove internal spring (diameter about the size of a dime) that pushed the tension plate upwards. there is a steel sleeve that surrounds the 10mm bolt. remove that also.

now you are down to 4 major pieces.

Cord, Shiv, spring and top cover.

Step 6: Remove the shiv and spring from the top cover. (leave cord attached to teh shiv)