Replace Impeller Of 1999 Force 40 Hp

basstracker2008

Seaman Apprentice
Please help...I have the impeller kit but got stuck with the shift rod issues.

I'm new to boating and really need help on my 1999 40 HP Force motor. I would like to change the impeller myself.
Below are what I think should be done.
1. separate the shift rod to turnbuckle. How? I have very little access to it. I can only insert my 3 fingers to access the turnbuckle and shift rod. How do I rotate or separate the rods? see link below for pictures? The first picture below where the stick is pointing to seems to be the shift rod location.

2. Next, remove the 4 fasteners.

I noticed that the lower and middle unit housing are like together, cannot be separated. It seems lower unit has not been taken off since it was bought. I hope I can easily separate the 2 units after working on item 1 and 2.

PICTURES BELOW

http://www.badongo.com/pic/2744940
http://www.badongo.com/pic/2744921
http://www.badongo.com/pic/2744923
http://www.badongo.com/pic/2744924
http://www.badongo.com/pic/2744925

Last edited:

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Re: Replace Impeller Of 1999 Force 40 Hp

You should be working with a manual.Sometimes you can find them at the library.
I won't be much help but I believe that year Force may use the Mercury leg.
And yours does seem to resemble the Merc leg.
Procedure in my after market manual doesn't address shift on removal only assembly.I wonder if access is in the space created after dropping the gearcase.

sweezy722

Petty Officer 3rd Class

I have 1999 40 Force as well. I will try to help from memory but you should have a manual.

1. You are correct in the picture. This is where you disconnect the shift linkage. With 2 wrenches that fit loosen them. Pay attention to how many turns it takes to come off and you can put it back on in the same spot without adjustments.
2. There are 4 bolts under the fins that will have to come off and are easy to see.