93 Force 150 Engine Skip

Snakeoleo

Cadet
Ahoy, This is my first time to this forum and problems bring me here. I have a 93 Force 150 that I've owned since new. Motor has about 270 hours on it and has been trouble free except for a minor exhaust water leak which was repaired and at the time the dealer said the motor was in great shape. Today, after a long period of trolling followed by a wide open ride back to the camp, I took the wife for a ride later today and the engine started to skip. It got progressively worse and we returned home. I changed the plugs for new NGK's and drained the float bowls in the top two carbs. Blew air thru the main jets in those same carbs. Did not touch the bottom carb due to limited room to work and being over the water. Engine still skips. Appears to be blowing back thru the top carb when it skips. I don't have a manual and cannot trouble shoot without. Does this sound like a confused ignition module? Had a Harley act this way and new module solved the problem. Acts more like ignition that gas problem but really hard to tell at this point. Any chronic or typical Force 150 problems like this?<br />Thanks,<br />Rob

roscoe

Supreme Mariner
Re: 93 Force 150 Engine Skip

Gotta narrow it down.<br />First check for spark.<br />If thats ok, examine the reed assembly between the intake and the block. If damaged or stuck open, can give the symptoms you describe.

Snakeoleo

Cadet

Roscoe,<br />Appreciate the tips. Plan on talking to the Serv Mgr at the dealer as well. Was going to try an induction timing light on each plug wire to see if I could see a misfire. Never thought of the reeds. Two stroke experience limited to piston ported engines. <br />Noticed that the ignition seems to have a separate coil for each cylinder. Little blocks that fit in a T-slot in a larger module. Are they replaceable?<br />Thanks and regards,<br />Rob

roscoe

Supreme Mariner