1988 125hp Force lower unit woes

Sandy-man

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hello fellow boating enthusiasts! I'm relatively new to the boating world. I bought this 1988 Bayliner Capri from my former boss who told me it's a great running boat. A couple days after I got it home he told me not to mix the Amsoil any leaner than 50-1 because he was mixing 100-1 and burned up the motor and had to have it rebuilt. Since then I had to have the head gasket replaced, apparently his mechanic used formagasket and didn't have the head surface ground. I also noticed the amount of water spitting out was quite a bit less than other motors I watched but didn't give it a lot of thought until the motor shut down on me in the middle of Lake Erie. Luckily it has a circuit breaker that tripped when it got too hot,h before any real damage to the motor.

To cut to the chase, I'm in the middle of installing a new water pump kit. While doing so decided I should try to figure out and repair the hiccup the reverse gear has, as though it has a broken tooth or something. From what I've read in the service manual I think I will need to hire a good mechanic to do this because the book says the propeller shaft will have to be removed, forward thrust washer removed then reinstall shaft with new reverse gear assembly in order to check propeller shaft end float. Is this true? Can't this be checked without removing shaft and if end float doesn't meet specs of .010-.011 then remove shaft and replace forward thrust washer with one to meet specs? This is over my head as soon as I have to remove the propeller shaft.

Jiggz

Captain
The reverse gear is mounted on the prop shaft and can be removed by dismounting the bearing carrier, removing the split locks and then pull out the prop shaft with the reverse gear. This is the only way to see and inspect the reverse gear. There is a u-tube video you might want to see, albeit it's on a newer Mercury but the process is basically the same.

Sandy-man