1989 Force 125 won't go above 3000rpm and doesn't have much power....

Mellinghouse

Cadet
I am brand new to boating and just picked up a 1987 18' Bayliner Capri that has a 1989 Force 125. I took it out for the first time today and it would not go above 2500rpm, then died after about 15 min of running. Got it started after letting it sit for 20 minutes, or so, but still wouldn't go above 2500rpm. Doesn't have much power out of the hole. It seems like it's loading up or running rich. I haven't adjusted the fuel mix on the carbs, because I didn't want to mess with them unless I had to. Interestingly, in reverse, the motor seems much more spunky and goes up to 4500rpm. After meandering around for a couple hours, the motor seemed to clean out a bit and run a little smoother, and actually got up to 3200rpm, but no higher.

The previous owner didn't run the boat much, so it hasn't seen much water time for the last 8-10yrs. The motor looks like it's had very little run time. Under the hood it looks nearly new, and the prop doesn't even have a knick on it.

Could this be a carb jet problem? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

pnwboat

Rear Admiral
Perform a compression test on all four cylinders, check the fuel pump diaphragm, and also check the water pump impeller.

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner
Do the compression and spark check.
That ok? then clean the carbs and inspect the reeds.
Check the fuel pump and lines.
The inline connectors can leak and suck air.
The increased revs in R I believe it's because of the shape of the prop.
It spins easier backwards.

Running for 15min and dying? could be it's hot and quit running.
Test the alarm system.
Key on, ground the orange lead from the harness tp the block.
The alarm should sound off.
That not working? replace with a car/motorcycle horn.
Just make sure it's wired right.

Mellinghouse

Cadet