Motorguide brute 756 trolling motor

Hello, Im new to this. I have a motorguide brute 756 trolling motor im having trouble with the selector switch i have speeds 3,4,5 but no 1,2 doe antbody have any suggestions. Cant seem to find any parts for this unit anywhere. Thanks

sweet addiction

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Motorguide brute 756 trolling motor

Any way you can post some pics of the set up?

It has a speed selection switch on the side of the foot control, everything turns free and connections look to be good just dont have any thing on the lower 2 setting on 12 or 24 volt

I will try to get pics tomorow and try to get on here if i can figure it out lol. Thanks

sweet addiction

Petty Officer 1st Class

I'm guessing that this is your set up. 12-24v-67lb-thrust-motorguide-brute-trolling-motor_5178442.jpg
I have the exact same one only it's 45 lb thrust. You most likely will need to replace the pedal or possibly just the speed dial on the pedal.

Yes that is what I have. Where could I find the speed control switch? I tried few different sites couldn't find my model. Thanks for your interest.

gm280

Supreme Mariner

I doubt that switch would be a general replacement type switch. So more then likely you will have to go through the Motorguide dealer or contact the manufacturer for replacement parts. You probably have the contacts burnt out on the first two switch positions. There is a lot of current being turned off and on going through those contacts. If you are very mechanically inclined, you could try removing the switch and carefully opening up the switch and cleaning those contacts, but if you have never done such before, a replacement would be your best bet.

sweet addiction

Petty Officer 1st Class