how to install nav lights?

Sheizer

Cadet
Hi everyone, i want to put nav lights on my jon boat. i want to install a base for bow and stern so i can just drop the lights into the base. do i need to have a toggle switch or just dropping the light into the base will turn it on when i need it? how do i wire the lights to my battery? do i need a fuse or does the bulb act as a fuse?
im a rookie , so thanks for any info you can help me with. this forum is great! ive already learned so much from here! hopefully one day ill be able to help someone out!

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: how to install nav lights?

Yes you need a fuse and no - bulbs are not fuses.
Yes you need a switch and it needs to be an ON-OFF-ON (three position) type. Nav lights operate as follows: in the NAV position both the bow and stern lights are on. When you are at anchor only the stern light must be on. That's so oncoming boaters know you are not moving. If you are moving the bow light must be on as it's the red and green that tells other boaters which direction you are going and who has the right of way. Those are regulations. What type of boat do you have? Does it have a fuse panel? Here is a diagram showing how to wire three terminal and six terminal switches. +12 volts comes from the positive terminal of the battery, through a fuse, to the switch, then to the lights. Ground from each light goes to -- well -- ground which is wherever you find it but ultimately that is the negative terminal of the battery.

NavSwitchWiring.jpg

Nav-AnchorSwitch.jpg

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

A lot depends on how your jon boat is set up. Do you have a fuse panel, or a switch panel or a helm, or maybe no engine, or you just set a battery in and go. If they are plug in lights, You don't really need a fancy switch setup. I you anchor, you could just un plug the red/green light until you start moving again.

Sheizer

Cadet