Are all electric trolling motors created equal?

DWM76

Seaman Apprentice
I am hoping there is one or more among you willing to share some non-biased advice based on experience with various electric trolling motors.
I am looking to buy one in the near future (maybe black Friday?) and have found myself with at least 4 options to consider from 4 different manufactures.
12V options:
Minn Kota C2 Endura 55 (36") $306 CAD
Newport Vessels 55 (30") $310 CAD
Seamax 55 (32") $280 CAD (65 = $320 CAD)
Unibest 60 (28") $260 CAD

Would a 28-30" shaft be enough for a standard transom height? Or are these dingy/kayak only?
Is there a standard by which Lbs Thrust is measured or are these simply marketing numbers?
In the case of the Seamax 65 vs. Minn Kota or Newport 55's is a 10 lb thrust gain worth the additional $10-14

I appreciate your thoughts,

MTboatguy

Fleet Admiral
I have been using Minn Kota motors for many years now in the various models they have made and I have never had any problems with them. How big of a boat will you be using it on?

gm280

Supreme Mariner
Selecting a trolling motor (TM) starts with what do you want the TM to do. While that sounds like an odd question, it really depends on how you plan on using the TM and the boat it will be installed on. If you are merely looking to troll down a back and fish for crappie brim, or even bass, in more coves out of the wind, then a small low thrust trolling motor will work. However, if you have plans to troll open water, that could easily have lots of winds, then you may need a lot more thrust. Ane if you are using a very small jon-boat, again, not much thrust needed. But a large heavy Bass boat or pontoon rig will require a lot more power. So you have to tell us what you are using and and how, and then we can offer a much better answer.