Lowrance 'Hook 7' issues - losing depth signal at appx 20 to 25 mph

wharfcreek

Seaman Apprentice
I am not an expert with 'sonar' functions, but have some marginal level of experience over a few decades of use. In the past few years I've moved from prior Garmin units to now having all Lowrance units on my boats. By 'boats', I mean my 2 center console boats; both Key West made, one a 1520, the other a 1720. Very similar, the 1520 being a '99 and the 1720 being a '00. The engine on the 1520 was replaced last year with what I recall as being a 2008 Merc 4-stroke EFI 60 HP, and the 1720 just got a 'new' 115 EFI 4-stroke Merc about a month ago. First 'new' outboard I've ever owned. Anyway, the 1720 was purchased by me this past spring and had some cell-phone depth finder unit on it....using an 'app' on a 'smart-phone'. The 1520 I purchased 2 years ago and installed a Lowrance Mark 4 on it that I purchased 'new' from Bass Pro Shop when I bought the boat. This past spring I purchased a Hook 5 unit for the 1520 and REALLY liked it. So, when I bought the 1720, I purchased a Hook 7 for that boat. I liked the Hook 7 so much I bought another one for the 1720. So, here's where I'm at today: