New to forum, working on getting an aluminum resto project for first boat

highsider989

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hello All:

I must say this is the best forum. I'm a former motorcycle mechanic whose always enjoyed boating on my friends boats. I started reading the resto threads and have seen the sun rise more than a few times as I follow you guys through your projects. One thing was clear to me, I'm not a fan of fiberglass, it's itchy. I can't imagine hours of grinding. Secondly, I'm looking forward to your knowledgeable advise when I find my self lacking know how. I see that some folks are able to get some very cool vintage boats into great shape. I hope I can amuse a few of you with my first build thread.

So I've been talking to a CL seller about an old aluminum boat I saw on an ad. Its a haul, about four hours away from the DC area but I'm willing to travel and risk a few Benjamins on this one. I think it could be just the right project. Its a smaller vintage, aluminum and has an outboard that ran two years ago. :confused: So if it all works out I should be starting my build thread in a week or so. I'm selling a motorcycle to fund the project. My goals are to have a nice, fun, safe, reliable boat to enjoy on the Potomac and Lake Anna. I know this is not my forever boat, I'll be keeping my eyes open for an 18 to 22 foot aluminum bow rider. I know I'll need another and depending how this project goes will determine how much work I commit to on the next one. So, I've set my budget very low, I'm just getting my feet wet, pun intended.

I look forward to talking with some of you on my build thread soon.

Wish me luck.

Last edited:

bonz_d

Vice Admiral
Re: New to forum, working on getting an aluminum resto project for first boat

Sow how about a clue as to what you're looking at and welcone to the club!

Size, type, engine, trailer? Pictures!

lokonn

Chief Petty Officer

Welcome, and tell us what you are looking at.

duke33

Petty Officer 1st Class