1956 Blue Star Islander Restoration

Drowned Rat

Captain
Re: 1956 Blue Star Islander Restoration

I'm a little intimidated by the fiberglass work as I've never done it before. There are no full cracks in the fiber (or I wouldn't have bought the boat) but there are hundreds of suface cracks that will need to be dealt with. The full is thick aluminum and STURDY. No dents, just the usual wear and tear. The engine controls will need to be replaced and the trailer obviously needs some work. Nothing I can't handle with time. :)

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral

Looks really futuristic, I dig the fins!!!:thumb:

Vintin

Petty Officer 1st Class

Neat looking boat!

Keep us posted.

Last edited:

jbcurt00

Staff member

Looks like a good rig, fins & all!

Good luck

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member

I am GLAD you are intimidated by fiberglass work since you should never use fiberglass on a tin boat.....maybe on seats and decking but not the aluminum itself.

I love the lines and the old school port side mounted steering ;)

The good new is that iboats launched a whole bunch more Paint, Fiberglass and restoration supplies today. They have increased the inventory and selection :D Check it out......Fiberglass & Epoxy Boat Repair & Building....... that hull looks great but maybe a little gluvit inside on those aging seams and the transom could be used:) Maybe some new paint..... that boat is FAR too nice to just do with cheap paint!

I can't wait to see this one come together........ now we should find a nice vintage motor.

Good Luck

jbcurt00

Staff member

photo5_zpsba5085f9.jpg

Isn't it a glass cap on an aluminum hull?

Seats, dash & bow cover definitely look to be glass:
Photo21_zps1e8f9c19.jpg

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner