Building a raised casting deck on a fiberglass hull.

JohnKee

Seaman Apprentice
Dear List members,<br /><br />Have any of y'all fitted a aft. casting deck on to an existing fiberglass hull? For example a Boston Whaler Montauk or Alert.<br /><br />My questions are, first, how would one fasten the new deck to the port and starboard sides, the transom and the existing deck? Can one, for example, glass in a wood ledger, or aluminum angle, to these locations to receive the new deck? Does one first remove the gel-coat in those places wherein such a ledger is to be planted? Lastly, do you have recomendations regarding the material out of which shch a deck "ought" be fabricated?<br /><br />I know there are "how-to" books on fitting such new deck to existing hulls. Do any of y'all have recomendations re. procedures or books? Have any done this? I am a cabinetmaker (retired) by trade and still have access to my shop, but I haven't worked with fiberglass save using westsystem epoxy for joining wood and plastic laminates etc.<br /><br />Thanks,<br />JohnK

crab bait

Captain
Re: Building a raised casting deck on a fiberglass hull.