I've got the bug!

bryanredfish

Petty Officer 2nd Class
OK, I've been so impressed with all these homemade boats that I'm going to give it a whirl. As I have no experience with woodworking or fiberglassing, would you suggest I start with a basic canoe, or something as easy? It looks like the XF-20 from Bateau would be what fits my needs the most: www.bateau.com/plans/power/XF20.php3<br /><br /> Any advice for a novice/beginner would be greatly appreciated! Thanks much.

crab bait

Captain
Re: I've got the bug!

start out with a boat that you can tackle & finish... major keyword 'FINISH '.. an pick a boat that you can use..but heck,, anyone can use a conoe... <br /><br />a good starter is the 'six hour canoe' by tiller publishing .. they're on the web.. <br />i have the plans, myself but never built one.. a friend of mine has... <br /><br />it's really a very pretty & very stable craft...an very easy to build as the name applies.. but you should call it the six WEEK conoe..<br /><br />glen-l marine .com has very good books an videos on the subject includin' buildin' & glassin' an stuff.. <br /><br />knowledge is priceless... good luck

snapperbait

Vice Admiral

Yep... I've got the bug too, but got too many other "Projects" in the works to start another...<br /><br />Like Crabby says "pick one you can FINISH"... Stich & Glue looks like the way to go to me... <br /><br />Canoes are good, a dinghy or a rowboat would also be good for starters... :) Have fun...

tmcalavy

Rear Admiral

Bryan,<br />Ditto...what they said. Only check out these sites too:<br />www.gatorboats.com (one of my favs)<br />www.duckworksmagazine.com<br />When I get my old antique outboards done this spring, I'm going to do either a jonsboat or a simple 2-man skiff...for a starter. Lord knows where I'll end up with this. Good luck and post pix along the way and when you're done.

ShawnQ

Chief Petty Officer