Aluminum v hull restoration, how-to's? Lmuss53's 171CC Sea Nymph Striper

Status
Not open for further replies.

lmuss53

Lieutenant Junior Grade
I am a veteran boater and iboater, and I am thinking about buying a 17' Sea Nymph Striper CC that will need new floor and paint to be presentable. It is being used now and I will probably get it some time before Sept. 1. Is there a how-to, sticky, etc. page that gives a rundown of where to start, what to expect and how to handle the problems on what happens once the old deck comes off. I am familiar with the concept of pulling the console or at least lifting it, and unhooking controls and wiring. I am more concerned with removing the floor, sealing the hull, redecking, prepping and exterior paint. I will probably recarpet, but would like to know about bedliner type material in these boats too.

I spend a couple of hours a day on here mostly in the pontoon section and in Johnson Evinrude outboards. If you can point me a a couple good aluminum vhull resto threads I will be happy to read them.

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral
Re: Aliminum v hull restoration, how-to's?

I'd stay away from the bedliner, that stuff would be great if you never had to make a repair to anything underneath it.

lmuss53

Lieutenant Junior Grade

I read a bunch of these tonight, most of it review as I have read them before. I looked in the SN section and read a lot from that SNS191 fellow, he stirrred the pot, but had some nice looking CC's. Anyone ever figure out where he went?

I've owned a Starcraft 17 Superfisherman, and a Crestliner 17 Sportfish I/O, and I can't wait to get this boat. I will probably use it for the rest of the summer/fall and tear into it in the winter.

Thanks for the replies, when I get it I will post some before pics.

I'm keeping the pontoon to lay around on and bottom fish from.

jasoutside

Supreme Mariner

Yah SNS...

One of a kind to be sure:rolleyes:

lmuss53

Lieutenant Junior Grade

081811135140.jpg

081811135058.jpg