Glasspar Lido Deck Questions

Hello all, I have a question regarding restoring a 1959 15' Glasspar "Lido" I've just acquired. I just joined the site and I'm not sure where to post questions. I don't mean to jump on this persons post and take off on my own question but I'm stuck. This is a general question about working with old fiberglass while restoring your boat. I am currently cutting out the old floor as there was a good bit of rot down there. and I want to replace the stringers and transom, whatever else needs replacing. My question is this, do I need to maintain some of the old fiberglass along the edges to bind the old to new. In other words I remove the old flooring but am I suppose to leave 3, 4 or 6" of old fiberglass around the perimeter to help adhere to the new floor? I hope I've described that properly, I am new to this, so please be patient with my stupid questions. Thank you, and I hope someone can help me out with this

GA_Boater

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Howdy.

Moved your post out if an old thread to one of your own. I can't answer your questions since I'm an aluminum boat guy, but someone will be be along.

Davetowz

Petty Officer 1st Class
Cut the deck back to the hull. Grind well. Tabbing the new deck onto clean hull surface is best. Looking forward to watching the build.

sphelps

Supreme Mariner
Welcome aboard !
If you are going back with the new floor the same height I would leave a little around the edges for reference on the new stringer height . Then grind back as Dave said for the new tabbing to the hull edges ...
‘As a new member you must adhere to the rules .. So pics ! Or it didn’t happen ! :lol:
:welcome:

Thank you all for responding, and I will post pics asap. I have one other question regarding replacing the stringers, should they be hardwood?

sphelps

Supreme Mariner
Just an ext grade plywood will be fine . Not pressure treated ...You want a plywood that’s made with waterproof glue ..