Hull fire damage repair

crashtcs

Cadet
I have an 84 Dusky 233FAC that was damaged by my garage fire, as the boat was parked beside the garage. I have decided to try and repair it myself, although I have no past experience with fiberglass work. I have learned a bit via FB groups, local resources and Internet resources. I am hoping this forum is better suited to post my questions and progress of this endeavor.

Attachments

• photo320218.jpg
    photo320218.jpg
    908.1 KB · Views: 0
  • photo320220.jpg
    photo320220.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 0

crashtcs

Cadet
Here is a picture of what I decided to do, based on my zero knowledge of this type of problem -- I removed the delaminated sections of fiberglass I could feel by pushing against the hull.

Attachments

• photo320219.jpg
    photo320219.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 0

crashtcs

Cadet
After getting a quote of nearly $9,000 to repair the damage, and gelcoat this side of the boat, I decided to try it myself. So, I proceeded to take off the gelcoat, in preparation for fixing the delaminated areas I cut out.

Attachments

• photo320221.jpg
    photo320221.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 0
  • photo320222.jpg
    photo320222.jpg

crashtcs

Cadet
Hopefully I have done the right thing so far! As I grinded off the blistered gelcoat towards the stern of the hull, I noticed the fiberglass was wasn't freckled far beyond the blistered area. Also, there are larger round light spots then the freckles, and I could feel that those are delamination spots -- not as bad as the sections I cut out. So I decided to take down these larger areas, and not mess with the freckled stuff. As I was feathering down the edges of the cut out areas, I noticed even the small freckles were delaminated. So, what the heck, I am already this deep into it, why not take down the freckles.

Attachments

• photo320224.jpg
    photo320224.jpg
    681.6 KB · Views: 0
  • photo320225.jpg
    photo320225.jpg
    709.3 KB · Views: 0
  • photo320228.jpg