1980 Sea Ray SRV 197 rebuild

Ill get some pictures loaded as I go. Have started demo and I am going all the way, deck, strings and foam all water logged. SO I am starting from scratch. Engine is out and will be worked on as well. Quite certain the outdrive will get a good once over if not replaced. I have been reading a great many topics here, and watching all the videos I can find. SO the first question I have is this. When bedding the new stringers, I have seen, use PB, use PL...why not use 5200? I'm new to all this so this may be the first of multiple questions, deemed stupid.

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
Welcome to iBoats and thank you for your Service!!
5200 is WAY to expensive to use for Bedding stringers. Use Peanut Butter much less expensive and does a great job.
The second link below should be very helpful for your upcoming project

CrazyFinn

Petty Officer 1st Class
What WOG said...

Using PB is cost effective, works well, and once everything is tabbed and glassed in you have one cohesive unit - the resin in the tabbing is the same as the PB, and it all just bonds as one unit. With PL or 5200, the resin of the tabbing will not "bond" to the adhesive in the same way. I can also imagine that the 5200 once cured would still allow a bit too much movement. The idea of the bedding is to make sure that the stringers have even contact pressure with the hull (through the bedding) with no pressure points that would result from slight variations in either the hull of the cutting of the stringers.

Here is another question. For budget reasons I will be using poly resin, is there a reason to pick iso vs ortho?

After doing a little more research on this boat I have found that it came with 3 engine options. It currently has the mercruiser 898. I have found that a 260hp engine was an option. Any of you experts know what that would have been?

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner