1987 Chappy 198CXL restore

Jamezy

Cadet
Hello from South Florida! after much deliberation I picked up this gem about a week ago, pretty much for free (just paid 300 bucks for the trailer!).
20190330_182238.jpg

20190330_182253.jpg

Its going to need quite a bit of work, havent really had the time to poke around and see exactly what it needs, besides a good cleaning, but at first glance you can tell its going to be a journey. I've done fiberglass before, have experience with wood working and I'm a mechanic by trade, however it is my first boat and I never turn down free knowledge.

Honestly, I bought this thing because my kids and I do a project every summer, last year it was restoring a 1998 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 and turning it into a bobber (almost done but we're still working on it!), the year before it we created an entire garden with planters boxes and what not. Living in South Florida, having a boat is pretty much a must and this one was cheap so why not... though I'm aware there's no such thing as a cheap boat!

Anyways, figured I had lurked around enough and it was time to introduce myself, its very nice to make y'all's acquaintance!

chevymaher

Commander
Looks about like mine did when I drug it home. Have fun fixin her up.

Jamezy

Cadet
hahaha your little four winns looks a boatload better than mine does. although the cuddy is in great shape, the rest is trashed and there are 2 very small soft spots on the deck. Will be drilling inspection holes tomorrow. I've gotta say though, for its age, the Merc 224 in it is pretty clean, lets hope it runs.

chevymaher

Commander
Thanks but that is the point it did look just like yours when I got it. This pic is the first time I saw it in person.

Just do the work they are new again. I like yours i be watching beginning to end. Mine had to be gutted. I got a new engine I just waiting for the mud to dry to get it in. It is worth it. May not seem like it when your grinding glass. That is the worst part.

Attachments