Deck replacement - 2001 Crestliner 1650 Tiller

CheezyPete

Cadet
Hi, I'm in the UK and just acquired a 2001 aluminium Crestliner 1650 Tiller; there's a soft spot about the size of a dinner plate in the floor about a yard from the transom - the rest of the deck is solid, covered with worn carpet, a bit wet in places but solid. I want to replace the deck and from what I've read I can just take up the old deck, replace any crushed or wet foam, and put some new down. I'm totally new to this, so I have a few questions I hope I can find an answer to here.

1) I have 3 pedestal seat bases - do they just unscrew from the floor?
2) Do I use 3/4" or 1/2" marine ply and should I seal the ply with anything, and if so how many coats
3) Do I need to put a layer of fibreglass on top of the ply?

Many thanks for any replies

oldrem

Commander
Welcome to the forums. Lot's of good folks here to help. For some quick answers,

1) Might get lucky and unscrew without the screws/bolts breaking, may need to pull deck with them attached and deal with them from underneath like I had to with some of mine.

2) If properly supported, 1/2" is good enough. I went with 5/8" on my tinny just to make it extra sound. Yes, definitely coat it top and bottom - and especially the edges. Use the OTF Old Timers Formula followed by a couple coats of spar urethane or varnish - depending on which version of the OTF you use

3) Not necessary on a tinny

I don't know if you will find wood or aluminum stringers on yours. If wood, chances are they will need replacing - hope they're aluminum.

Not quite finished with my tinny, but here's some of my journey https://forums.iboats.com/forum/boa...-1977-sylvan-sea-monster-side-console-rebuild

CheezyPete

Cadet
Thanks for the info , so ...

What is "OTF Old Timers Formula" ?!