2000 Bayliner Capri 2050LX starting rot in front walkway.

Shippy96

Cadet
I have a 2000 Bayliner that I noticed has 2 soft spots across from eachother on the front walkway. The spot feels no bigger than about a 3 by 3 square what i believe it was caused by a bad front cover (When i purchased the boat earlier this year there was a week long thunderstorms and i found out it was dripping in the corners where there is now soft spots). I am no expert when it comes to rot in boats but if i had to guess its in the beginning stages of rotting as if I dig my heel into it there is enough give i can notice it but not enough that if you werent looking for it specifically you probably wouldn't notice it. I was able to take some photos of the underside of the plywood and was curious if people with more experience could tell me how bad the rot is looking and how much it looks like im going to have to replace. The main sport is located right after the stringer where the front walkway portion to the front of the boat is.

Attachments

• photo303645.png
    photo303645.png
    623.1 KB · Views: 0
  • photo303646.png
    photo303646.png
    1.2 MB · Views: 0
  • photo303647.png
    photo303647.png
    1.3 MB · Views: 0
  • photo303648.png
    photo303648.png
    1.5 MB · Views: 0
  • photo303649.png
    photo303649.png
    879.7 KB · Views: 0

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
It's TOAST! You'll need to remove and replace. Don't be surprised when you get the deck off that you find a LOT more issues below. Boats of this vintage, especially Bayliners tend to have issues with rotting decks, stringers, motor-mounts and transoms. Boats tend to rot from the bottom up, so be prepared for some major restoration work

tpenfield

Staff member
Pictures are quite blurry, can't really tell much from them . . . so keep the day job. :)