Below Deck fuel tank replacement?

bennnyjw

Seaman
Hello,
I recently purchased a 1993 sunbird corsair 170 with outboard and below deck 23 gal tank.
I have had fuel issues and bought a new fuel sender and pick up tube, both of the old ones were covered in grime/scale.
I cut in an access hatch in order to replace those parts as I only had a small round hatch before.
I have plenty of tools and some experience in woodworking and work on hvac equipment for my trade.

But... I made a drastic mistake by thinking I had a jug of coil cleaner to use on the top of the tank, but it turned out to be vinegar :( ............... Which obviously created a few pits in the tank, and one near the feeder that went all the way through.

My main question is can I repair these pits and the hole? Or do I make the even more time consuming job or cutting out the tank completely? I am also unsure if the vinegar made its way to places I cannot see? Pressure test the tank? The tank manufacturer RDS told me the tank is about 25x45x5 which makes it a good portion of the floor space of my boat and where I would probably have to remove my double seats on each side.

I was also planning on using pvc trim board to replace the existing part I cut out, either making it a hatch, or sealing it in and possibly carpeting over it something.

If I cut the whole tank out I would like to use pvc for that too, but realize I may need to secure it and seal it good for rigidity and moisture?

Thank you!

alldodge

Staff member
What is the tank made out of?

I'm not seeing vinegar eat thru a tank even in long term. If its aluminum I see water is what did the damage and the vinegar just cleared away the corrosion. Seeing replace the tank is the way to go.

If the tank is foamed in, I'm would foam it back in, but coat the tank real good with epoxy

kcassells

Fleet Admiral
Yup, I concur with Mr.ALLDOGE.The vinegar cleaned off the crumbola and exposed rather serious problems that