Restoring a 1987 Glasstream 172 Cutlass

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlabamaNewbie

Petty Officer 1st Class
For a long time I've wanted a neat little play around boat for the family, but didn't have the money to go buy a nice one. My son and I decided to buy a cheap boat that needs a lot of work, and do a father/son project. he is an aircraft mechanic in the air guard and an engineering student, I am an old shadetree mechanic that likes a decent challenge. So - here we go. I figure I will have questions as we get in to this.

What I know so far from our inspection before we bought it (we are picking it up later today):

1. It doesn't run. The guy "said" it ran last year, but this year he hasn't really had time to fool with it, and that the ignition coil needs replacing. It does turn over, the oil is not contaminated, good compression on all cylinders, and its getting fuel to the cylinders, so it does sound electrical. No power out of the coil, so that's definitely a possibility. On order, should be here later this week.

2. The trim doesn't work. I can hear the solenoid clicking, but no power getting to the pump motor. The battery had a good charge, so I will have to dig in to this deeper. It might be that the voltage regulator/rectifier needs replacing, which may make the ignition problem make more sense too.

3. The prop needs replacing. Not a big deal. I'd do that anyway even if it didn't need it.

4. The horn DOES work! lol

5. Its missing one of the rear seats.

6. 70% of the upholstery is crap, but as a child my mother taught me how to sew with a machine, and I have one that will sew upholstery, so I think we are good with doing that ourselves. We may want to change up the interior color anyway.

7. Floor has a bad spot right in front of the engine. Could be patched in no time, but we are going to re-deck the whole thing.

8. The hull is in great shape, as is the transom! So its not totally junk....