1966 Starcraft Holiday Engine Repower

66Holiday924

Chief Petty Officer
Hi, I'm a new Starcraft owner, and I am new to iboats.com. I went through and read a lot of the forums here when I was researching my boat. I bought a 1966 Holiday I/O, 18 foot model. I like the boat and bought it with the intention of keeping it for at least 15 years. It had the original 110 horse Mercruiser in it and the 1A-EZ Drive. I am getting ready to repower the boat and I am interested in opinions. I have my eye on a 1992 3.0L Mercruiser w/Gen II outdrive. I think that engine should push me along pretty nicely and it's probably about the max for that hull.

Scott06

Vice Admiral
That would be a clean repower as the 3.0 is essentially the same as the 2.5 that's in there. It would be more power and definitely push the boat along fine, but I think the boat could could go for more power if you wanted it. The hull would certainly take a 4.3 if you wanted to do more water sports or be heavily loaded with people or gear, really depends on your intended usage.

66Holiday924

Chief Petty Officer
I wanted to post a few pictures of the boat that I bought, but it won't let me upload them for some reason. What format do they need to be?

The 110 and the 3.0 weigh about the same. I'm worried that if I go bigger the extra horsepower will be mostly countered by the weight added. I would like to use it for family fun, including fishing and skiing & tubing. The skiing and tubing will mostly be kids weighing up to 100lbs or so though. During the repower, I'm thinking about doing the transom. The original transom is still in it. It's usable, in "ok" shape at best, so might as well do that while I'm at it. What is a reasonable price to have that done on that boat? Since it's such an important structural piece of the boat, I'm leaning toward having a pro do it. I don't know, there doesn't appear to be a whole lot to it.

Old Ironmaker

Captain
Aye aye mattie, welcome to iboats and my Star Craft owners club