glastron v162 futura project

diveplane

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hello all

I am a rookie when it comes to boats and boat repair , i picked up a beautiful boat, but the inside needs work , new decking.
so far after first hull wash the boat came up fantastic .

it came with a fantastic 1979 johnson 75hp stinger chequered flag outboard.
boat.jpg IMAG0122.jpg

Baylinerchuck

Commander
Great looking boat!! Welcome aboard. Lots of helpful folks here to help get you off on the right foot.

New decking often means a hull up restoration including stringers and transom. Decks usually get soft from the bottom up.

Hope to see more pics as you start digging in!

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
I agree with the above. Soft deck is a BIG signal for more involved repairs. I recommend you research Deck Stringer and Transom replacement here on the forum. You'll find LOTS of detailed information on what you may need to do on your boat. By the way, she's got great lines. Does the motor run?

diveplane

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I agree with the above. Soft deck is a BIG signal for more involved repairs. I recommend you research Deck Stringer and Transom replacement here on the forum. You'll find LOTS of detailed information on what you may need to do on your boat. By the way, she's got great lines. Does the motor run?

motor has good compression should run ok i have a top mechanic if i need help on that.
taking my time with the boat and project, first i am going to gut the boat out.
then maybe work on the engine this year and get it running test it all the electrical wiring.

i have a chevy 1500 half ton project right now so the boat is a next year mission, maybe do a little this year on it.
gut out and motor test going.

diveplane

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I could never figure out why boat builders use wood if it rots out?
is it because it flexes under waves and choppy conditions?

thought the glass fibre stops water getting in, and epoxy painting the wood?