First Boat and need advice 1974 VIP tri-hull 15'

skins1831

Cadet
So, I got the boat free. My grandmother gave it to me as a gift. I cleaned it out, removed all of the old carpet from the deck, and removed the top "shell?". I removed all of the rivets and can take it off "just need a few buddies to lift". The previous owner lost the steering on the boat ad tried to cut the cable out with a saw as you will see. I read many previous restoration projects here and thought to myself, I can maybe do this. However, is it worth it? My background, I am an Airframe and Powerplant mechanic for over 13 years. I have a high mechanical and structural aptitude from working on jets for so long. I have just never worked on a boat. From what i can immediately tell, it will be needing a new transom and stringers. Thanks for the input and i will try and work quickly when i get input and keep active here.

http://s61.photobucket.com/user/skins18312/library/Boat start

Last edited:

sphelps

Supreme Mariner
Yep looks like he was having a time trying to remove the steering cable :lol:

Does it have a motor ? :welcome:

skins1831

Cadet
I do not have a proper sized motor. I have an 8 horse tiller I used for my 12 ft aluminum hull. She can take a 70 horse (under proper structural circumstance) Not sure what to think. And yeah, I looked at the guy and asked him...."Really man.....really?" He was too lazy to get below the rear cap and unscrew it.

Last edited:

sphelps

Supreme Mariner
Well then ya have to decide on restoring it or finding something else .. Just the boat restoration will run at a minimum of around 1000 to 1500 for material .. Ya always spend more than you think you will ... Then you will need a motor ... Might find a used one with some life still in it for about the same ... So your looking at around 2 to 3 grand and a lot of work to get on the water ...
Could you find another boat for the same money ? Sure but the chances are that it will need a lot of work also ...