Pontoon Boat Transducer location

shardy217

Seaman Apprentice
Hey folks,

Browsing through some old threads I’ve seen other people ask similar questions to what I’m going to ask. Please don’t be mad - I’m new to the whole pontoon boat thing!

So I’d like to mount a transducer, mainly to keep track of depth - we go to fairly shallow lakes in central IL. I know a lot of pontoons have the mounting bracket on the back of the starboard toon but mine does not. The rooms themselves have the V channels at the bottom so I tried to rig something up to mount the depth finder to but I’m not getting any good readings no matter how I adjust it. I talked to a rep and she said there’s too much turbulence in that spot since it has these V channels underneath. My question is - has anyone tried mounting their transducer off the transom or somewhere else? I would like to get a bracket welded on the back of the toon but it’s so badly corroded I don’t know that they’d be able to grind down enough to get to good metal.

I attached pictures for your viewing.

Thank you all for your time!

B8522040-BF8F-436B-94AE-C8C83D6FA8C5.jpeg

Attachments

• 7A3CE7A7-0838-4D78-A563-FD559ADB9679.jpeg
    7A3CE7A7-0838-4D78-A563-FD559ADB9679.jpeg
    979.7 KB · Views: 2
  • 7A3CE7A7-0838-4D78-A563-FD559ADB9679.jpeg
    7A3CE7A7-0838-4D78-A563-FD559ADB9679.jpeg
    979.7 KB · Views: 2

HotTommy

Lieutenant Junior Grade