Steering suggestion.

Cold Atlantic

Seaman Apprentice
I am working on this Eastporter for next year's striper season. I am going to power with a 1985 to 2010 ish 75 to 115 hp. I am new to boats but a pretty good mechanic. If I buy a wheel and mechanism what should I get? I am guessing a rack system? I am confused about what cables work with what wheel assembly etc. Basically I want install the wheel assembly before cables and motor install. So what wheel assembly to get?

Attachments

• photo276830.jpg
    photo276830.jpg
    59.5 KB · Views: 0

Cold Atlantic

Seaman Apprentice
Oh yeah I am working with a clean slate. The boat is 20 foot and was totally stripped and redone. It was in bad shape. Full of dings and bad fiberglass work.

roscoe

Supreme Mariner
You could use rack or rotary.
Key factor is how much room you have under your console.

Rack needs more room to both sides. But not much depth.
Rotary needs room to one side, but requires more depth.

I hope you factored steering cable length into your placement of the center console.
You are going to need a steering cable length of about 20 feet if your console is 9 feet from the transom.

Most "packaged" steering systems are only available with 9 - 20 cable lengths.

Any longer than that and you will be buying individual parts, which cost more.

The other option is to move your console to one side, been there, done that.

Cold Atlantic

Seaman Apprentice
Wow you scared me for a second. My console is 8.5 feet from the stern to the middle of the console. My console is pretty roomy 31"wide and 20 inches deep.

Are cables motor specific? Or can I just get the right length and a specific connector to the motor?
Thanks for the help.

AL

GA_Boater

Honorary Moderator Emeritus