New to pontoons

Dusty78

Seaman Apprentice
I've had v bottom ski boats and 21' bow rider but this is my first project pontoon boat

Dusty78

Seaman Apprentice
So my family was too big for my 88 galaxy admiral. I loved that boat, it was 21' and heavier than most bow riders. I was told it was set up for salt water, it had a mercruser 170 and a alpha one stern drive. It also had a cool feature, a heat exchanger. It had antifreeze in the motor. It was a wander full boat but now that we have four boys and a little girl ohh and four boxers the ol girl just wasn't big enough and wife didn't think it was safe enough ( it rocked too much for her). So I sold her ( the boat) and got a 30' sun tracker party barge. Got it for $800 it had a new floor but that's it oh and the upper half of a 30 hp Johnson.

Dusty78

Seaman Apprentice
Well my brother in law gave me a old 1973 Chrysler 70 hp outboard that haven't ran in 11 yrs but it ran when we parked it in his field. I hope I can get it running I think it would be better than the 30 hp motor

NYBo

Admiral
Welcome aboard! :welcome:

You picked a great forum to ask for help and advice.

We love pictures here.

Dusty78

Seaman Apprentice
No Title

here's the project

Attachments

• photo270438.jpg
    photo270438.jpg
    155.8 KB · Views: 0

Dusty78

Seaman Apprentice
I tried posting pics of motor but keeps telling me pic is too big

ahicks

Captain
Dusty, going to be blunt here. If that Chrysler checks out OK, then fine. If it doesn't, I would look for a different engine. My experience has been that there is no end to expensive repairs with them - that, and the fact parts can be difficult to find.

Dusty78

Seaman Apprentice
Dusty, going to be blunt here. If that Chrysler checks out OK, then fine. If it doesn't, I would look for a different engine. My experience has been that there is no end to expensive repairs with them - that, and the fact parts can be difficult to find.